My all grain setup :)

Questions, answers, and comments related to brewing.

Moderator: Officers

Rugger1978
Craft Brewer

My all grain setup :)

#1 Post by Rugger1978 » Mon May 02, 2011 4:02 pm

I started brewing my own brew when I got laid off last July. I started with Extract and Specialty Grains and after learning the process decided to make the jump all grain brewing. I wanted to show my setup I built for anybody who is interested in saving some money by building their own. I know even a cheap prebuilt setup just to hold everything is in the upper hundreds of dollars. I decided to go with a tier setup to save on not having to buy pumps and batch sparging to save on not having to purchase another kettle with fake bottom and such. Also alot of items I received by putting them on my birthday and christmas lists, lol.

I built the frame using slotted angle iron purchased from home depot. I simply did my measurements and cut the pieces with a grinder and then bolted everything together. You could save money by picking up old bedframes, but then you have to drill holes or do some welding. I would say total cost in the slotted angle iron is around $150.00. Notice I also built a shelf into the frame, which I would highly recommend having! I use that shelf for a lot, including somewhere to put my beer while I'm brewing lol.