General tips for big beers and/or belgians

Questions, answers, and comments related to brewing.

Moderator: Officers

Pentaquark
Homebrewer

General tips for big beers and/or belgians

#1 Post by Pentaquark » Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:33 pm

Howdy all

I'm getting set to make some big beers in the near future, a strong golden and a trippel. This is my first attempt at either style so I would sincerely appreciate any sort of advice for making these big, delicious beers extra delicious. And possibly extra big.

Specifically, I've heard they require extra oxygen in potentially several steps. Any advice for aeration? I don't have pure o2 tanks or anything so best bang for the buck is the solution I'm looking for.
-Allen

Blktre
BrewLegend

Re: General tips for big beers and/or belgians

#2 Post by Blktre » Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:47 pm

I spent a lot of years trying to make the perfect Belgian beer. Here are some guidelines that many have had excellent luck doing and IMO the only way to do it.

Add your sugar to the tail end of primary fermentation. I usually build enough yeast to handle a 1.060-65 beer. Then however much sugar is needed to reach your desired OG is added late to primary. The sugar is built into your recipe/OG just not added to the boil. This really makes your yeast very happy and your gains will be reaching the proper FG. Adding the sugar to the kettle means a massive yeast pitch to handle the OG and usually wont reach your desired FG.