WANTED: 1/6 barrel keg for kegging beer

Questions, answers, and comments related to brewing.

Moderator: Officers

mushhawk
Little Beer

WANTED: 1/6 barrel keg for kegging beer

#1 Post by mushhawk » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:17 pm

Does anyone have a 1/6th barrel keg for sale for cheap?
The soda style or "Cornys" as I've been told they're called might be the best way to go....so that I can easily get the beer in.

I've been told they have a screw off top. I'm not sure how it would work if I got a regular 1/6 barrel keg (like a Boulevard keg for example).
Are those easily filled and cleaned as well? If so, I might be interested in one of those if you have one.

As you can probably tell, I'm a newbie to kegging. :P
I am looking for a cheap keg though. If you have any advise or info on how I'd re-use a regular keg, I'd be glad to get that as well.

Thanks!!
Last edited by mushhawk on Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"...I was in Thailand, playing ping pong in Ding Dang..."

Frank
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: WANTED: 1/6 barrel keg

#2 Post by Frank » Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:30 pm

There is a "swap meet" section for this very topic, and this is the reason it's in the "General" as apposed the "Members Only" section.

6th barrel Sanke kegs will be very hard to come by cheaply. As they are the current commercial standard, everyone you find will most certainty be stolen property of the brewery from which it started life. Half Barrels are easier to find (especially here in Lawrence with students that forget/don't take the it back after a kegger) but they are also most surely stolen as well. I don't know of any home brew shops that actually sell Sanke kegs, online or otherwise.